Anthony Van Dyck leads O’Brien charge on Dewhurst

Thursday, Oct 11 2018

Aidan O’Brien has assembled a team of three as he bids to win the Darley Dewhurst Stakes at Newmarket for the fourth year in a row and for the seventh time in all.

The Ballydoyle handler saddles National Stakes runner-up Anthony Van Dyck, Christmas and Royal Lodge scorer Mohawk. They filled the first three places in the Futurity Stakes at the Curragh in August.

Too Darn Hot is the star attraction in a strong field of seven declared for Saturday’s Group One showpiece.

The impeccably-bred son of Dubawi out of multiple Group One-winning mare Dar Re Mi has showed enormous potential in winning each of his three starts to date, completing his hat-trick with a dominant display in the Champagne Stakes at Doncaster.

The John Gosden-trained colt now tries his hand at the top level for the first time.

The promising Sangarius, trained by Sir Michael Stoute, is unbeaten in two starts and now steps up markedly in class, while Martyn Meade’s Advertise is already a Group One winner having captured the Phoenix Stakes at the Curragh.

Richard Hannon’s Kuwait Currency, winner of the Listed Stonehenge Stakes at Salisbury, completes the line-up.

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info