Super filly Alpha Centauri takes top award

Wednesday, Dec 5 2018

Alpha Centauri was crowned Horse of the Year at Horse Racing Ireland’s 2018 awards.

The Jessica Harrington-trained filly landed four Group Ones in a stellar season which was unfortunately cut short by an injury sustained in the Matron Stakes in September.

There were special awards for Nina Carberry and Katie Walsh, who both retired after winners at the Punchestown Festival. They were honoured with the inaugural Irish Racing Hero Award.

On what was a big night for lady riders Rachael Blackmore, currently the leading National Hunt rider this season, received the National Hunt Achievement Award.

Willie Mullins won the overall National Hunt gong. A total of 212 winners in a battle with Gordon Elliott peaked with 18 winners at Punchestown while he also enjoyed seven winners at the Cheltenham Festival.

Donnacha O’Brien won the Flat Award while Patrick Prnedergast won the Flat Achievement Award thanks to the exploits of Skitter Scatter.

Amateur riders Barry O’Neill and Derek O’Connor won the point-to-point and ride of the year awards respectively.

There was also recognition for the retiring Dr Adrian McGoldrick who was presented with the Contribution to the Industry Award.

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info